My Thrive Market Box

Grocery shopping can be difficult. I have to go to multiple stores to get the best prices and the variety I need. Some items I prefer I can only find at Whole Foods, but the nearest one is 30 min away (or worse if it is at a bad time of day; when I’m usually free, of course). I put off shopping and keep having  too many days when I look at what I have and try to figure out what to put together rather than deal with the hassle of multiple stores with a baby (hate the in and out of car seats the most).

I stumbled across Thrive Market, where I can order healthful, organic foods at a discount.

Sign up here with my referral link!

Organic foods at a discount? Yes, you read that right! I was excited to find this store because there are many foods I already buy that I can get on this site for a much cheaper price. For example, I have bought Mother’s Milk Tea at the local grocery store (sometimes it is in stock, other times not) for nearly $6, while on Thrive, I got it for $3.75.

I’m also glad that they have many other products I hadn’t seen before that I could try because searching for vegan items without added sugar and oil is extremely difficult;Thrive has 17 pages of vegan foods!

They have more than just food; there are also household goods, cleaning supplies, baby stuff, health, pet, and beauty items.

The site requires a membership like Costco or Sam’s Club, however, some people can get free memberships like I did. Even if you don’t. your membership fee helps pay for another family’s membership. Those who qualify are low income families, teachers, veterans, or students.

I got 17 items for a little under $100. Last time I walked out of Whole Foods spending that amount, I had more like 7 or 8 items. I would’ve had one more because I had a free item for spending a certain amount, but it was a product I don’t use so I opted to not get it.

Here is my box. It was quite large. Unfortunately, because my apartment building spelled my last name wrong on the directory, UPS would not deliver it and I had to go pick it, which also delayed me getting it by a couple days. Frustrating. But it was packaged well. It is weird that I thought the tape on the outside was cute?

dscn5154

Here is what I ordered:

  • Almond Flour
  • Apple Sauce
  • Buckwheat Soba Pasta
  • Chia Squeeze-Green Magic
  • Chili Pumpkin Seed Crunch Brussel Bytes
  • Charlie Banana-Cloth Diaper Liners
  • Agar Agar Flakes
  • Mocha Herbal Coffee Alternative
  • Mother’s Milk Tea
  • Organic Brown Rice Cakes
  • Organic California Sushi Rice
  • Organic Millet and Brown Rice Ramen
  • Organic Raw Pizza Flax Snax
  • Sippy Cup
  • Strawberry Jelly
  • Whole Grain Rice Cereal

Here is a little more info on some of the items I’ve tried so far:

I took a picture of a few ingredient lists to highlight what I look for in products. I look for real ingredients of things that I know (not some scientific name I can’t pronounce), no added sugar, and no oils (the hardest!).

I didn’t have high expectations for these, but was pleasantly surprised. I took a bite and said, “Wow! It does taste like pizza!” I’ve only eaten them plain so far, but I think they’d taste great with hummus. There were many other flavors from this brand that I will have to try.

dscn5165

I’ve tried a guava drink from this brand that I loved (though expensive) so thought I’d try this. I liked it, though I can tell there is kale and spirulina in it (so if you don’t like the flavor it might turn you off). There were other flavors of this that were just fruit that would taste much better. This item was still a little pricey compared to other squeeze pouches, but I was thinking it’d be a great pregnancy snack I wish I would’ve had when I was pregnant to get in my omegas in the days I was too tired or busy to make oatmeal.

dscn5167

I got a coffee alternative, Teeccino, to try, because I liked drinking coffee with my husband and friends, but I don’t drink caffeine (unhealthy). It tasted pretty good and similar to coffee. Ezekiel tried it and liked the taste, even without sugar (he always has sugar in his coffee; I’ve always done black).

dscn5171

These liners have been useful. It is basically like placing a piece of toilet paper on top of the cloth that can be flushed. Nice when it is time for #2. I will probably only use these until things are firmer…while a few dollars cheaper than Target, still, it’s about $10 for 100 liners, which will probably last only a month. It is worth the price for this transition time though!

No picture, but the Brussel Bytes are gross. But it’s worth a try when a product has no sugar or oil. I bet Ezekiel will take them to work and eat them.

If you do or want to buy organic products, but can’t afford regular store prices, give Thrive a try! You can try free for 30 days, get 15% off your first order, and signing up through my link can get me some credit so I can buy more food 🙂

Click here to sign up!

Comment below if you have questions about any of the other products I bought or about Thrive. I’m glad I found it and hope it will help me keep eating well and bring my astronomical grocery bill down a bit! Thanks breastfeeding and endurance training for my voracious appetite.

Leave a Reply

