Stay in the Moment

Watching the colors of the sky change as the sun rises.

Giggling as the wind drops leaves around you like snow.

Relaxing in the beauty of calm.

These things are only experienced when you stop and stay in the moment.

Matthew 6:25-34 Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

I like to plan. I also like to reflect and think about every pro and con of every decision. That takes a lot of time. It puts my brain in future mode way too often. For the past few years I’ve been in the position of not knowing what would happen the next year with temporary or short-term jobs and leases. I’m in the position once again. I certainly cannot read God’s mind, but maybe he continues to place me here to remind me to trust in him and stay in the moment.

I can dream about what I may do next year. Trust me, I’ve got multiple ideas for every possibility I can imagine, but God is good at delivering the unexpected. It is good to have a plan, but also remember it isn’t set in stone. I can dream, but to waste my time researching now it pointless as at this point in the year there is literally nothing I can do and there are too many unknowns to make any decisions.

dscn5210blur

I’ll work to keep my focus on my quickly growing son. Staring into his beautiful blue eyes, noticing his adorable expressions, and breathing in his scent when he lays his head against my chest. I can focus on what I might do during nap when that time comes, not run it in the back of my mind while playing with him.

I’ll work to use my runs to notice the beauty of God’s creation around me rather than only thinking about how much further I have to go. The opening descriptions were from yesterday morning’s run which I smiled through because it was so enjoyable. There is something so calming about running at 5 in the morning. No matter if it is in a small town or a bustling city of millions, that time the streets are quiet and open. It is so relaxing.

I’ll remember the dreams I have for the possibilities I might do next year, but I’ll wait until the moment comes to spend my precious time on them.

Leave a Reply

