Extreme Makeover: Banana Edition

I was out of bananas and wanted more from the store but had no desire to go out. I asked Ezekiel to get some for me. Trying to hear over  cranky baby, he misunderstood and thought I wanted bananas for recipes. He came back with these bananas:

dscn5278

Only 99 cents! They went a long way to feed us for the week.

No problem. I became inspired to bake a bunch of banana things because I always struggle to have ripe bananas at the right time. I took these ugly bananas and turned them into these beautiful, delicious creations:

Banana Bread

dscn5285

No oil, added sugar, or other bad stuff. Quick and easy to mix, pour, and bake. It came out moist and delicious!

From Vegalicious’ Body By Plants Manual

Nut Butter Banana Muffins

dscn5282

I wasn’t sure how these would work out because I didn’t have enough peanut butter. I used 1/4 cup of peanut butter and 3/4 a cup of almond butter plus a little cacao powder and chocolate chips on top. With no flour or baking soda, I was surprised to see them rise and look like just a thick version of muffins. Another simple recipe requiring only bananas, dates, and peanut butter at minimum.

From My Whole Food Life

French Toast

dscn5283

I’ve made this a few times. I love it because the batter comes together in a few minutes, I always have these ingredients on hand, it can sit overnight to soak or be done the morning of, and it is baked so I don’t have to stand at the stove top cooking or add oil to fry with.

From Connoisseurus Veg

Banana Bread Bites

dscn5287

No bake. Easy. Still tastes like banana bread! Sometimes though, rolling the balls gets tedious. I always have to use less milk because it gets so wet. I usually add in ground flax seed and roll the balls in it to make them less sticky.

From The Big Man’s World

Leave a Reply

