Marathon Training Week 4

 

IMG_1668

Side plank selfie.

 

One month in and feeling great! A little less than 3 more months until marathon day arrives. Here’s how the week went:

  • Sunday: 3 miles
  • Monday: rest
  • Tuesday: 7 miles
  • Wednesday: 4 miles & 36 lap swim
  • Thursday: rest
  • Friday: 4 miles
  • Saturday: 11.16 miles

I went outside for this week’s long run. I’m so glad I did. Much more fun than the treadmill. I felt great and can notice a difference already in a month. The first week I had a few miles with splits over 12, but this one started will all 11s and down to 10s. It’d be great to get  down to 10 min miles consistently. Even better to get to 9s, but I don’t know that I can expect that much improvement in a couple months. I’m wondering if with the long runs, I’m able to get 2 minutes faster per mile by the end, could I actually start a little faster? It went fine this week. I just don’t want to set myself up for a bad run because going out too fast on long runs will not end well!

marathonweek4Here are my splits from my long run. An average pace of 11:03. I covered my watch (ok, partly out of necessity; cold wind) for the majority of the run and just went my feel with stellar results. I always do the first one too fast. But it is so exciting to get outside again; I can’t help it! Especially glad that the 2nd to the last one I was able to maintain the same pace despite going straight into the wind. Consistency is key and I’m not feeling too nervous about the ever increasing long runs at this point. The main thing to work on is doing the full warm up and strength routines rather than trying to hurry through to get back home or back to Oliver.

 

Leave a Reply

