Marathon Training Week 5

This week went pretty well with training. It was nice to have a few runs outdoors with the nice weather. I really want to get on my bike, but it is hard to get comfortable with taking so much time away. But I’ll just keep reminding myself that it good practice for the fall when I go back to working full-time.

Here is how the week went:

  • Sunday: 3 miles
  • Monday: 8 miles
  • Tuesday: rest
  • Wednesday: 5 miles
  • Thursday: sprints up and down the gym racing kindergarteners (haha)
  • Friday: 3.6 miles
  • Saturday: 12 miles
  • Total: 31.4 miles

Initially I was going to write the sprints in Thursday for fun, but when I ran on Friday, I realized it really had been like a workout racing those kindergarteners¬†because my quads were sore! So I didn’t do the full 4 miles I had planned because my legs were exhausted (I also ran at 4pm instead of the morning) so I didn’t want them to be to tired out before the long run the next morning.

It was a good call as I felt great on my long run. Even though I added a mile, I ran it in the same time as last week. The first half I debated between trying to start a little faster and worrying about pushing to much because of how my legs were the day before, but the second half I flew. I was amazed with multiple miles in the 9 minutes and ending with an 8:36 min mile. Total it took me 2 hours and 5 min for an average pace of 10:25. Hopefully I can keep bringing the pace down while the miles go up.

hkh

Leave a Reply

